Getting To Know You: A Quick Conversation w/ MA student Josh Bovee

Are you local to the area? Where you from?  Why Albany?

I am not local. I am from Johnstown New York, a very small town about 45 minutes outside of Albany. Really I chose Albany because it is a reasonable commute between there and Johnstown and I’m able to keep my tutoring job at FMCC while attending classes.

Why a Master’s Degree in English? 

I’m getting a Master’s Degree in English for the simple fact that I love to read and write. So I guess through Master’s study I’d like to become not only a better reader and writer but a more persistent one and ultimately a more serious one.

Who is your favorite author?

This changes all the time, but for the moment I would have to say William Faulkner.

What do you hope to accomplish by the time you graduate?

I would like to become a better speaker. I still have a tremendous fear of public speaking which for some odd reason is heightened all the more by being in a classroom. This is not a good thing for someone who eventually wants to teach! So hopefully I can get past that and learn to speak clearly and coherently in front of an audience!

What are your long-term goals for your degree?

I would like to teach English at a community college. I went to Fulton-Montgomery Community College when I got out of high school and it was the best decision I ever made. I would have failed miserably if I had gone straight to a four-year college. I now work as a tutor at FMCC and I work with students who have the intelligence to succeed in the higher education system but for various reasons require smaller and more hands on learning in-order for them to develop. Community colleges offer this to those students and I would like to be a part of it.

What was the last good book you’ve read?

I recently read the Zuckerman Bound Trilogy by Philip Roth and loved every bit of it.

Josh Bovee

Comments are closed.