Intern Profile: Samantha Short at The Sanctuary for Independent Media

Short Samantha photo1Samantha Short was the Social Media Intern at The Sanctuary for Independent Media in Troy, NY. Here’s her account.

My first duties were to create events on the Sanctuary Facebook page and website and create pages on the Sanctuary ticket seller website, Brownpapertickets.com. I also helped create an entirely new segment on their website called People Power. In this part of their website, I created new stories about almost all of the people who volunteer and spend their time helping out with the Sanctuary. The People Power page has buttons that navigate you to each section of the page: for example, I created the Kitchen Sanctuary button, which has a different story for each person that has dedicated their time in helping to prepare and share food with the community. I have also written stories for the intern page, the Youth Media Sanctuary page, the Funders and Inspiration page, as well as many more organizations and people that volunteer. I also wrote up the press releases for their events of the Fall 2013 season, as well as attended some events to help out with the door and café.

Short Samantha photo3I met artists and presenters from all over the world who came to perform and speak at The Sanctuary. I have definitely broadened my horizons by learning about these different artists and organizations that are affiliated with The Sanctuary. I have not only learned a lot about these people, but I have also learned a lot about different types of media, which was helpful because I would like to pursue a career in that field.

After writing all the stories, descriptions, bios, and press releases, I now think being an English major was the right path for me. I enjoyed studying the different bands and performers that came to The Sanctuary as well as writing about them on the website to attract the public. When I first came to college, I was unsure of what I wanted to do with my future, but since I started my internship at the Sanctuary, I think I would like to go in the direction of social media and public relations since I enjoyed my time doing this type of work.

Before I started my internship, I thought the only thing that English majors could do with their degree was either become an author or become a librarian. Since my search for an internship, I realized that there is a lot more that could be done with an English degree. I enjoy working with different types of media, and I have realized that there is a need for people who can write and communicate with others in the media world.

Comments are closed.