What We Talk About When We Talk About Writing: Interviews with the M.F.A. Student Samson Dikeman

samson

Welcome to another installment of WWTA. This semester, we’re going to be interviewing the writers who make up the second class of the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing. This week we corresponded with Samson Dikeman over email.

Samson grew up in Altamont, NY.  He went to high school at Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons in Schenectady, NY (grad. ’07).  Samson attended three different schools for undergrad, finally deciding on SUNY Oswego, where he received a bachelors degree in English (grad. ’11). In addition, to writing poetry and fiction,  Samson is also an avid runner, competing with the Willow Street Athletic Club.

What drew you to the MFA program?

The professors and students.  I spent a few years in the MA program with a concentration on writing getting to know everyone and trying to discover my own voice.  Witnessing some of the great writing my colleagues and professors were producing made me want to be a part of the MFA experience.

What or who inspires you to write?

I am inspired to write by moments in nature.  I’ve recently taken to carrying a small notebook with me to jot down notes and images I see in my day-to-day life.

Who is your favorite author?

I don’t have a specific favorite author, really more of favorite literary movement.  I have always enjoyed post-modern fiction and poetry.

What do you hope to accomplish by the time you graduate?

I have two goals I’d like to achieve by graduation.  The first is to be published, and the second is to leave a lasting mark on this MFA program.  Many of my colleagues go out of their way to organize and plan events, which is something I hope to do during my time here.

What are your long-term goals for writing?

I just hope to be happy with my writing.  If I can find a job that let’s me write and do writing I enjoy, what more can I ask for?

What was the last good book you’ve read?

Luca Rastello’s I Am The Market.  It was  recommended to me by Professor Nester.

Comments are closed.