Kaitlin Murphy Earns the Swaminathan Award

Kaitlin Murphy, from Delanson, who completed her course work in December 2010, has earned both top honors among English-Adolescence Education majors and the Swaminathan Award as the top student in undergraduate English programs. Although she says her “student teaching was awesome,” she is now looking into the publishing field before she starts her graduate work in English.   Kaitlin believes that “My English courses definitely prepared me for student teaching and for a future career in teaching. I was comfortable, even when I had to teach novels I had never read before, so I could focus on all those other anxieties that go along with student teaching. The research skills I learned in my English classes were helpful when lesson planning and learning more about the literature I had to teach.” However, she also knows that “my English courses have helped me learn skills that can be applied to a variety of careers besides teaching. Above all, my English courses showed me that revision is the key to doing well and this is something I will take with me to any future career.  In other words, don’t settle for your first attempt. That’s something any employer can appreciate.”

Kaitlin advises English majors to “speak up in class, since English classes are usually based on conversation, and you really need to engage yourself in that conversation to get the most out of it.”  Kaitlin “will definitely miss Saint Rose! I loved the small class sizes. My professors always offered to look over drafts and that was really helpful. Getting individual support helped me improve my writing and figure out my weaknesses.”  Kaitlin’s excellent record as an undergraduate student suggests that she certainly listened to that advice.  We wish her well in whichever career(s) she pursues.

Comments are closed.