Alumni Stories: Esther Prokopienko

Esther Prokopienko (BA/MA ’09) has been keeping busy. After earning her Master’s in English from Saint Rose, she entered another M.A. program, this time at Leeds University’s M.A. program in Postcolonial Literary and Cultural Studies.

“I’ve been here for about a month now, and except for it’s penchant for cold misty rain, I quite like it. The people are extraordinarily friendly, the countryside is rather picturesque, and the staff at the University of Leeds are above and beyond my expectations.”

Esther continues her interest in Australian Studies and plans to use early Australian cookbooks from the University library’s archives in my dissertation. Studies at the 12-month, multidisciplinary program culminates in a 12-15,000-word dissertation. Esther’s is tentatively etitled “‘A contest between a semi-tropical climate and Anglo-Saxon heredities’: Tracing an Emerging White Australia Through Her Cookery.”
“Of course, I can’t forget to mention how wonderfully close together everything is here. I’ve been doing my best to take full advantage of this fact. I’ve spent a bit of time traipsing the Yorkshire Dales, and spent a weekend in Scotland. Tomorrow I’ll be taking a short bus ride over to Manchester, and at the end of the month I hope to go to Amsterdam to attend a Postcolonial Studies conference.”

“Now, if only I could figure out a way to get ahold of a money tree, I think I’d be pretty set.”

Comments are closed.